Lottery Settles Order of Names on April Ballot

For those candidates who filed nominating petitions at the same time on Dec. 17, a lottery was completed at the Des Plaines City Clerk’s office to approve the order in which they will appear on ballots in April.

Per election rules, a lottery was held for candidates who filed nominating petitions at the same time to determine the order in which names will appear on voting ballots in the Consolidated Election in April, the clerk’s office stated on Friday.

The lottery was done in the Des Plaines City Clerk’s Office on Jan. 4, and resulted in the following order for the offices of mayor and first, third and fifth ward aldermen.


• Mark Walsten

• Matthew J. Bogusz

• Anthony "Tony" Arredia

First Ward Alderman:

• Patricia Haugeberg

• Robert S. Giurato

Third Ward Alderman:

• Denise Rodd

• Patricia K. Beauvais

Fifth Ward Alderman:

• Gregory M. Sarlo

• James Brookman

Click here for a list of all candidates running for office in Des Plaines in 2013. 

Sign up for Patch’s daily newsletter, delivered to your inbox with news, information and community.

Find Patch on Facebook and click the like button.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »